Home Page

The Limpopo River Basin is shared by four SADC Member States, i.e. Botswana, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Mozambique, and has a total catchment area of approximately 408,000 km². The catchment characteristics are very diverse covering different climatic and topographic zones as well as land use types, including protected areas. Also the social and economic development features are highly diverse. The commitment of the riparian states managing their water resources together dates back to 1986, when the “Limpopo Basin Permanent Technical Committee” was jointly established. In 2003 this cooperation was fostered through the multilateral agreement to establish the Limpopo Watercourse Commission (LIMCOM).

This is the official website of the Limpopo Watercourse Commission (LIMCOM). This website serves as the entry point to LIMCOM, providing basic background information on LIMCOM, the Limpopo River basin, institutional and technical programmes, access to official LIMCOM-endorsed publications, News and Events taking place in the basin, opportunities with LIMCOM, photographs and information on our partners.

Use the menus at the top of this page to navigate through the site and the calendar to browse through upcoming events. To contact the LIMCOM Secretariat, please use the information provided on the Contact Us page.

If you are implementing or involved in a project in the Limpopo River basin, please help us find out more about your project by registering with us.

This entire website is available in Portuguese. Access to the Portuguese language version is via the button top right of each page "View in Portuguese".

Solomon's Wall, Botswana
Source: Di Perna (2009)

Copyright © LIMCOM 2015.  Website design: Metamorfize.  Website implementation: Hatfield Consultants.
Not logged on: log on here